A Good Day with the Family in San Ynez

It was the summer of 2013. I was having a good time relaxing, playing video games, and eating…..a lot as you can tell šŸ™‚ My family from San Jose were supposed to come and visit. I was super excited to see my cousin Joaquin in particular because I didn’t see him for a whole year! I couldn’t wait to play some games with him and show him around Santa Barbara. It was always a good time with Joaquin.

Let’s go back to when I was 12 years old,

However, before I could show him around Santa Barbara, my Mom thought it would be a great idea to head down to Builton/San Ynez so we could visit my Grandpa or as I like to call him, Abuelito. I hadn’t seen my Abuelito in a while, so this trip was going to be a great bonding experience for Joaquin and I with my Grandpa. However, it was going to be a challenge for Joaquin and Abuelito to communicate because unlike me, Joaquin didn’t do to well in learning or understanding Spanish. It was going to be fine because my Mom was fluent in Spanish of course.

As soon as we got to my Abuelito’s house, he was ready for us to take him to his favorite restaurant called Pea Soup Anderson’s. I also loved this place. Ever since I was little, it was always a tradition to stop by Pea Soup Anderson’s and have their famous pea soup. This time around I decided to have their bratwurst sandwich AND a pea soup. Even though that much food isn’t really good for me it was still delicious. As I expected, we had a great time discussing soccer and my Abuelito’s favorite team, Chivas de Guadalajara. It was funny to see him complain how they were playing in the season, he was truly a real fan.

At the end of the day we decided to hit our favorite Japanese restaurant called Itzuki. Itzuki was so delicious and has to be one of my favorite Japanese restaurants I have been to. Sadly, it is closed now šŸ˜¦ Anyways, how is your relationship with your Grandpa and do you have a special name for him as well? Let me know in the comments below and be sure to follow me so you can keep up with blog posts every week.

Leave a Reply

